Patriarch Athenagoras I Award Recipients

The Patriarch Athenagoras I Award was initiated by the National Forum of Greek Orthodox Church Musicians by Dean Limberakis and established in 1996 as a means of giving recognition within an individual Metropolis to meritorious individuals whose Metropolitan contributions to the music ministry of the Church are worthy of this distinction. The recipients shall have significantly contributed talents and/or service to the development and perpetuation of the choirs within the Metropolis of Boston served by the Metropolis of Boston Federation of Greek Orthodox Church Musicians (MBFGOCM). By so doing, these individuals shall have fostered the aims and goals of MBFGOCM and the National Forum. The Patriarch Athenagoras I Medal shall consist of a medal specially designed for the National Forum and shall be given to each Award recipient. The recipients shall also receive a letter of commendation from Metropolitan Methodios.


The candidates for this Award shall be church musicians who are active and contributing members of a Greek Orthodox Church within the Metropolis of Boston which is served by MBFGOCM or clergy, within the Diocese who have made significant contributions to the Church Music Ministry. Candidates for the Award shall have a significant length of dedicated and meritorious service to the Church Music Ministry of the Metropolis of Boston. Candidates for the Award shall have demonstrated exceptional service at the Metropolitan, Regional and local levels within one or more of the organizational structures which support and promote the well being of the total Music Ministry Program. The candidates for the Award may have demonstrated distinction in one or a combination of conducting, composing, accompanying, singing, chanting or service in the Church Music Ministry. The candidates for the Award may have demonstrated exceptional leadership or service in promoting Regional and local Church Music Ministry programs. Nominations shall be based solely on the candidate's contributions within the Metropolis. Holders of the St. Romanos Medallion of the National Forum are not eligible for nomination. Individuals may receive only one Patriarch Athenagoras I Award in their lifetime.

Nomination Procedure

Any member of a choir in good standing within MBFGOCM may submit a nomination to the Selection Committee. The nomination package shall include:  a completed (typed) official nomination form; the candidate's biographical

data including current and past positions the candidate has held in the Greek Orthodox Church, employment and educational background relevant to the candidate's contributions to the Church Music Ministry, and a listing of all known published compositions and publications pertaining to the Church Music Ministry; a clear statement of the candidate's contributions to the musical life of the Church (e.g. conducting, composing, accompanying, singing, chanting, service, etc.) especially at the Metropolitan, Regional and local levels. This is the most important element in considering candidates for this Award. Three letters of support from individuals who are aware of the candidate's contributions to the Church Music Ministry at the Diocesan, Regional and local levels.

All nominations for the Award shall be submitted to the MBFGOCM President no later than 90 days prior to the Annual Conference of the Federation. The Nomination Forms shall be typed and mailed registered mail/return receipt requested to the Federation President. Nominations not received IN WRITING, and nominations postmarked later than 90 days prior to the Annual Conference of the Federation, will not be considered in that year and must be re-submitted the following year. A member may re-nominate an individual but the written materials must be re-submitted in full with each nomination. All nominations and supporting documents will be placed in the Federation archives in order to maintain a historical record and reference.

Past Recipients from the Metropolis of Boston


  • †Ethel Lafazanis - Annunciation, Cranston, RI
  • Emmanuel Mihailides - Annunciation, Cranston, RI
  • †Arthur Peros - St. George, Hyannis, MA


  • †Dr. Christos J. Bentas - Holy Trinity, Lowell, MA


  • †Theodore Mekelatos - Annunciation Cathedral, Boston, MA
  • †Rev. Fr. Emmanuel S. Metaxas - Taxiarchae, Watertown, MA


  • Christos & Mary Papoutsy - St. Nicholas, Portsmouth, NH


  • Spiro Billis - St. George, Southbridge, MA
  • Heidi Mason - Annunciation, Brockton, MA
  • †James Savas - St. Demetrios, Weston, MA


  • John Arambages - St. George, Lynn, MA
  • Carol Salvo - Dormition of Virgin Mary, Somerville, MA
  • Toula Sparages - Transfiguration, Lowell, MA


  • †Ted Guvelis - Holy Apostles, Haverhill, MA
  • James Maheras - St. Nicholas, Portsmouth, NH
  • †Elpida Milias - St. Spyridon, Worchester, MA


  • Sophia Argeros - St. George, Lynn, MA
  • Gregory Condakes - St. Demetrios, Weston, MA


  • †Charles Filias - Assumption, Ipswich, MA


  • George Theodossiou - Annunciation, Brockton, MA


  • Stella Pathiakis - St. Athanasius, Arlington, MA


  • Cindy Rodolakis - St. Luke, East Longmeadow, MA


  • Steven Karidoyanes - Boston, MA
  • Genie Leussis - St. Demetrios, Weston, MA


  • Cynthia Mitaras Alex - Taxiarchae, Watertown, MA
  • Meri Kassanos - St. Luke, East Longmeadow, MA


  • Rev. Dr. Costin Popescu - Annunciation, Newburyport, MA
  • Athena Kallyvas - St. Demetrios, Weston, MA



Complete list of past recipients of the Patriarch Athenagoras I Award by Metropolis »